Skip to main content

The Devils Lake Basin


Weather Retrieving
Lake Height: Retrieving





Given to individuals or organization who supports the overall water management mission statement for the Devils Lake Basin, listed above.

In a Supported County

May be nominated from any of the eight counties, Spirit Lake Nation or Turtle Mountain Reservations that comprise the Devils Lake Basin.


A continued, demonstrated commitment to improving the quality of life for the Devils Lake Basin community through their efforts to improve land and water stewardship in the basin.

Previous Winners

Click on the Image for Details!
2023 Water Stewardship Award

2024 Devils Lake Water Stewardship award was given to Dick Johnson. Dick Johnson served the City of Devils Lake for 32 years, 20 years as a City Commissioner and the last 12 years as mayor. During this time, Dick was instrumental in navigating the City of Devils Lake through very unique water challenges. Dick worked endlessly to help develop the best flood control measures possible, given the very complex issues surrounding Devils Lake.

2021 Water Stewardship Award
2018 Water Stewardship Award Winner

2018 Award winner Nelson County Water Resource District members L - R:  Mike Donohue, Todd Whitman, David Sateren, Ben Varnson and Charlene Varnson. 

2014 Water Stewardship Award Winner

On Thursday, December 4th 2014 the Devils Lake Basin Joint Water Resource Board presented Huck Krueger of Devils Lake with the Devils Lake Basin Water Stewardship Award.  The award was presented to Mr. Krueger during the 51st Annual Joint North Dakota Water Convention & Irrigation Workshop’s Awards Banquet in Bismarck.  Mr. Krueger was nominated by […]

2010 Water Stewardship Award Winners

Nominated by the Towner County Water Resource District and here are some of their comments concerning the project. "Over the years the creek had become full of sediment and it was overflowing its banks and drowning out farmland.  The project consisted of approximately 260 acres of wetland restoration via improved floodplain/wetland topographic complexity increasing surface variability and […]

2009 Water Stewardship Award Winners

CURT HOFSTAD….nominated by the Ramsey County Water Resource Board:  “Curt’s philosophy is that with good water management practices, agriculture and wildlife & fisheries prosper and along with that comes better recreation & economic development opportunities” MIKE CONNOR…nominated by the Devils Lake Basin Board:  “Mike has a deep passion, both professionally and personally, for everything the Joint Board […]

2008 Water Stewardship Award Winner

Russ served on the Garrison Conservancy District Board for twenty years, four years on the State Water Commission and eight years as Chairman of the ND Wetlands Trust in addition to his day to day efforts as Editor of the Devils Lake Journal for 30 years.  During that time he served in a variety of […]

2007 Water Stewardship Award Winner
2006 Water Stewardship Award

Nikolaisen Project Receives Stewardship Award - January 4, 2006 Robert Shirek, Chairman of the Devils Lake Basin Joint Water Resource Board, presented the 2006 Devils Lake Basin Water Stewardship award to the Nikolaisen Waterfowl Production Area project at the Lake Region Extension Roundup in Devils Lake on January 4th. The project is located 8 miles […]

2005 Water Stewardship Award

The late Ernie Hagen of Devils Lake was presented the Water Stewardship Award posthumously for his many years of activities on behalf of water in this area. Shown are members of the Hagen family with Larry Gellner (seated, center) of Cavalier County, chairman of the Devils Lake Basin Joint Water Resource Board, which sponsors the […]